Book by phone: +1 (800) 406-7404
Exterior of the cabin.

Rising Eagle Lodge

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental cabin / bungalow. Sleeps 27, 8 bedrooms, 7 bathrooms. Dogs allowed.

Sevierville, TN 37862 United States

This recently remodeled log cabin is in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains and brings to mind the words of the prophet Isaiah, “But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” At “Rising Eagle Lodge” you will rise like an eagle and soar through the days in fun and luxury!

“Rising Eagle Lodge” offers fantastic views and luxurious comfort. This lofty Pigeon Forge cabin features two master suites with king-sized beds, satellite TVs, and private baths with Jacuzzi tubs. The six additional bedrooms also have king-sized handcrafted beds and satellite TVs. There are two queen-sized sleeper sofas and a set of queen bunk beds allowing this cabin to sleep up to 27 people!

The kitchen of your dreams awaits you with marble top counters and stainless appliances in the fully-equipped kitchen. “Rising Eagle Lodge” offers stunning views of the great outdoors and sublime luxury in the grand indoors! Relax in the hot tub on the deck while enjoying the beautiful mountain views from “Rising Eagle Lodge,” or stay inside around a cozy fire in the stone fireplace in the great room.

Fun has certainly not been forsaken at “Rising Eagle Lodge,” with two game rooms to keep everyone entertained. Play foosball, air hockey, and pool. Organize your own tournaments!

Located in Black Bear Ridge Resort, “Rising Eagle Lodge” is only minutes from the Pigeon Forge Parkway, and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, so getting to all the attractions of the region is easy. So come experience soaring views at “Rising Eagle Lodge”—the perfect large family or group cabin.

Under no circumstances will Fraternities and Sororities be allowed in any unit or cabin.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Cabin / Bungalow, 3 story
Unit Code RISEAGLE
Beds 8 king beds, 3 sleeper sofas, 1 bunk bed
Bathrooms 7 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 27, 8 dining seats
Pets Dogs allowed.
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Wet Bar, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware
Indoor Living Space Ironing Board, Jacuzzi Tub, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Central Air
Outdoor Deck, BBQ Grill, Gas Grill, Hot Tub
Entertainment Pool Table, Air Hockey
Convenience Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Outlet Shopping, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank
Internet/Communications Free Access, WiFi
Layout Main Level - 2 king bedrooms, Upper Level - 2 King Bedrooms, Lower Level - 4 King Bedrooms
Decorate for Christmas Yes
Average Manager Rating (Based on 5228 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 35 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
91 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Beautiful time with family

    Stayed 3 days ending in December, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Elena C from Denver, NC recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful time at the cabin, we had stay in the same community about 3 years ago. Love the area

    • Manager Responded on 12/29/2017

      Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. These reviews are very important to us as they advise us on where we excel and where we may improve. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  •  
  • wonderful getaway for family

    Stayed 2 days ending in November, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Columbia, SC recommends this vacation rental

    awesome

    • Manager Responded on 11/11/2017

      Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. These reviews are very important to us as they advise us on where we excel and where we may improve. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Our team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional escape to paradise! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  •  
  • Rising Eagle Lodge family trip

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Linda B from JOHNSON CITY, Tennessee recommends this vacation rental

    We really enjoyed our stay at Eden Crest! The rooms were spacious and clean. They made checking in and out s o simple. The views from our rooms were magnificent. We had a great family trip.

    • Manager Responded on 10/24/2017

      Thank you for choosing Eden Crest for your family trip! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

  •  
  • Rising Eagle Lodge

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Robert H from New Market, AL recommends this vacation rental

    Excellent! The cabin was better than we expected! The rooms were large and the whole cabin was clean. The only negative was that the trash pick-up should be made every other day. Our trash was never picked-up. I don't think that is something that we should have to call about. The location of the cabin was great! Just a few minutes drive to all the sites.

    • Manager Responded on 8/29/2017

      So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

  •  
  • Wonderful family reunion

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Natanya T from Longview, TX recommends this vacation rental

    The Smith family had a blast.Made great memories.

    • Manager Responded on 8/8/2017

      So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

  •  
  • Rising Eagle

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    SHERI P from LOVELAND, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We found Rising Eagle to be a decent size to handle our 21 people. For the most part, all went well. There was a family of raccoons in the ceiling - which was a nuisance. And, like the other reviewers, the ceiling leaked on my daughters head one night. The TVs were a little tough to figure out and in the end, we could only get one to work. That said, the place was clean, had everything we needed in the kitchen, plenty of towels and the location was beautiful. High enough to see the beauty of the mountains, and quiet with just a few cabins around. We would go back.

    • Manager Responded on 8/10/2017

      Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay. We are terribly sorry to hear about the problem you encountered during this stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. We hope to see you again soon so that your next visit can be one that you can brag about.

  •  
  • Enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from arly, AL recommends this vacation rental

    Very nice! We were a group of 27 and we had more than enough room and everything was very nice. We had a great time.

    • Manager Responded on 8/3/2017

      We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

  •  
  • Family Birthday Getaway

    Stayed 2 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    czarina h from dayton, OH recommends this vacation rental

    A great cabin to stay. A known issue of air conditioning leak into kitchen, and no propane had to wait until next day for replacement. Overall great rms beds i enjoyed my stay.

    • Manager Responded on 7/5/2017

      So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

  •  
  • Affordable but could be a little more large group friendly

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michelle M from Richmond, KY recommends this vacation rental

    The cabin was clean. We had an A/C issue when we got there and a leaking toilet..maintenance responded very quickly on both accounts. The rooms were good size but seating was limited on deck and only one dining room table for 8 and the deck had 2 rocking chairs. I brought more chairs because of previous reviews. We had a group of 25 so needless to say we could not eat together. This cabin seems to have the same complaints with no efforts to remedy the issues...more seating, bigger refrigerator, the cabin should also have a second stove and grill. Otherwise we had a great time.

    • Manager Responded on 5/29/2017

      Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry to hear that your cabin choice did not exceed all your expectations. As you may or may not know all our cabins are individually owned. Each owner personally chooses the decor, furniture, and amenities for their cabin. We will however mention these suggestions for upgrades to the owner. We do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We would love to have our vacation planners help you find a cabin more fitted to your groups needs in future. We hope to see you again soon so that your next visit can be one that you can brag about.

  •  
  • Spring Break Trip

    Stayed 3 days ending in April, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kimberly L from Woodruff, SC recommends this vacation rental

    It was great!

    • Manager Responded on 4/5/2017

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Family annual Feb. stay

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lisa J from Knoxville, TN recommends this vacation rental

    We really enjoyed our stay, nice cabin and layout. There were a few things that didn't work and a few things(tv receivers, lamps bent etc.) that need to be updated for sure but overall had a great time.

    • Manager Responded on 4/29/2017

      So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

  •  
  • 2016 Christmas Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Andreina R from Riverview, FL recommends this vacation rental

    With a party of 18 this cabin had room for everyone! Cabin was clean, rooms good in size, and kids really enjoyed the game rooms. A few negatives were the dining room table only sat 8 even though the cabin slept 27, cabin had an apartment size fridge, folding chairs on deck and only 1 Rubbermaid rocking chair, and leaks in at least two of the rooms when it rained.

    • Manager Responded on 6/23/2017

      Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry to hear that your cabin choice did not exceed all your expectations. As you may or may not know all our cabins are individually owned. Each owner personally chooses the decor, furniture, and amenities for their cabin. We will however mention these suggestions for upgrades to the owner. We do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. We will always strive to provide our guests with a great vacation experience and continue to make improvements whenever we fall short of that goal. We hope to see you again soon !

  •  
  • Family Reunion

    Stayed 3 days ending in December, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Verbena, AL recommends this vacation rental

    It was very nice for a family reunion. It would have been better if the dish washer worked. Cooking and cleaning for 16 was core. There was not enough large pots for a large group. We had to purchase cookware for over Christmas meal. Overall we had a nice time.

    • Manager Responded on 8/1/2017

      Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We are sorry you experienced any problems, but thrilled to hear that the problems didn't interrupt your vacation. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • beautiful cabin

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stacey L from Zeeland, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Excellent...clean and beautiful views!!

    • Manager Responded on 12/1/2016

      We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the near future!

  •  
  • Day my life changed

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Louisville, KY recommends this vacation rental

    My stay at the rising eagle was amazing. My friends and family stayed there as a couples retreat, and while staying my boyfriend proposed to me... It was amazing. Overall we had a great time the place was so clean it had everything we needed I truly would recommend to everyone.

    • Manager Responded on 9/30/2016

      Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. What a wonderful surprise! Congratulations on the engagement! The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Big Cabin with issues

    Stayed 4 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Gulam M from Lombard, IL does not recommend this vacation rental.

    The cabin was as big as we expected it to be. Good views were mostly hidden behind couple of trees directly in front of the cabin facing the mountains. There were small issues throughout the cabin where bedroom doors wouldn't lock, one of the bathroom's flush was broken (it took them 2 days to send someone to fix it), blinds on doors were broken when you tried to use them and the very last night the water started leaking from the upstairs bathroom down in the kitchen. The garbage box outside the cabin was not cleared for our entire trip of 4 days and 4 nights. Clearly, ongoing maintenance is a big issue and should be rectified if they want repeat business and good reviews.

    • Manager Responded on 6/14/2017

      Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Crest. We are terribly sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during this stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. Again, we apologize.

  •  
  • Rising Eagle Lodge

    Stayed 6 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Ken I from Sussex, WI recommends this vacation rental

    Love the size of the 8 king bedrooms. Linens were clean and the overall condition of the lodge was good. Wish there were more wood or good plastic chairs on the deck, and wish there was another full refrigerator.
    Other than the keycode and WiFi password being wrong on arrival and that I don't remember anyone telling us we had to call to get garbage pickup, we got what we expected.

    • Manager Responded on 8/1/2017

      Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We are sorry you experienced any problems, but thrilled to hear that the problems didn't interrupt your vacation. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Family vacation

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lisa G from Indianapolis, IN recommends this vacation rental

    The Rising Eagle was sized up right for our family of 15 adults and 5 small children. Everyone had their own bedroom and bath which was a plus. The views of were nice. Cons: Had wasp nests on the front balcony that were never treated like we were told they would be. There was only 1 rocking chair on the back balcony and the other chairs were the fold up metal chairs you would see at a fellowship hall. I saw several reviews that mentioned this and wonder why it hasn't been resolved. The folding chairs were uncomfortable and would get hot during the day. A post fell out of the back balcony and maintenance never came to fix it as it was reported. The back balconies were weather beaten and need attention. Trash was not picked up as often as it should for a cabin that size. I had some unhappy grandchildren because they could not swim in the resort pool. After arriving I was told that the owner of the cabin does not pay for use of the pool that is located on the resort. If you have a large group, take extra cookware. Items such as cookware, utensils, etc should be replaced every so often. We did have a good time other than a few minor issues.

    • Manager Responded on 6/30/2017

      Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Crest. We are terribly sorry to hear about the prob-lems you encountered during this stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. Again, we apologize.

  •  
  • We enjoyed our stay

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    James S from Chapin, SC recommends this vacation rental

    We enjoyed our stay. The closeness to restaurants and activities was great. The house was very nice and spacious. However, we did not realize neighbors would be so close and that was a distraction at times. Also, the parking situation is awful. There is very little room to park as the house is right on the road. After being out enjoying Pigeon Forge at night, we arrived back to the house to find all the spots in front of it taken by neigbors and had to park several houses up from our own. One of our party had to park several hundred yards from the house and hike back up the hill in the dark. It would be great if land could be cleared across the street to allow for parking.

    • Manager Responded on 6/14/2017

      Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Crest. We are terribly sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during this stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. Please know we will work hard to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. Again, we apologize. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • A good stay

    Stayed 3 days ending in April, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Monroe, GA recommends this vacation rental

    Overall the place was nice just a little to high for some of the older guest. Next time we get something not so high up in the mountains. Only bad part about the cabin was, most of the bedrooms were cold. Even with the heat up they were still cold. And the kitchen could use a little more cook wear. But other then those few things we really liked the cabin.

    • Manager Responded on 4/14/2016

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. As you may or may not know each of our cabins are privately owned and we have several throughout Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. With each of the cabins being privately owned it can be a unique experience in each of them. The vacation planners are more than happy to find a cabin that is not high up and would be more to your liking as far as location. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Lovely

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Betty P from Morganton, NC recommends this vacation rental

    Very nice

    • Manager Responded on 4/6/2016

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • FAMILY REUNION

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Debra M from Port Saint Lucie, FL recommends this vacation rental

    it was a very nice stay; however, the temperature in the cabin was off. cool on one floor and warm on another. not enough parking but all else was great. would definitely come back.

    • Manager Responded on 2/16/2016

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We are sorry to hear you had an issue with the temperature. Some large cabins can sometimes be drafty. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Wow...

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Knoxville, TN recommends this vacation rental

    What an incredible business. Eden Crest did a great job in keeping the roads clear during our stay. They were very responsive to a couple house keeping hiccups, also. I will be a returning customer and will encourage others to go through Eden Crest.

    • Manager Responded on 1/27/2016

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Great Cabin

    Stayed 2 days ending in December, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Tiffany T from Conroe, TX recommends this vacation rental

    We got this cabin and serenity mountain pool lodge for our wedding weekend. Both are amazing. This cabin is very roomy. My husband and I stayed one of the master bedrooms. Great bath tub. We liked it better than serenity because all the rooms are a good size and didn't feel crowded. Both are amazing though

    • Manager Responded on 12/29/2015

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Great place for reunions.

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lydia S from Murfreesboro, TN recommends this vacation rental

    Great experience all together. Staff was extremely friendly, easy check in and out. Only thing I wish there was more of is parking.

    • Manager Responded on 9/29/2015

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • one awesome vacation

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Bolton, NC recommends this vacation rental

    Everything was great no complaints about our cabin no complaints about the staff everything was wonderful I love my vacation.

    • Manager Responded on 8/28/2015

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • 2015 Sales Meeting

    Stayed 2 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mike J from Maryville, TN recommends this vacation rental

    After reading the reviews I was some what skeptical to bring our sales team to this cabin. After we all arrived everyone was pleased and really enjoyed their time there. No doubt that there are a few items that needed a little attention but no more than the ordinary home. Everyone agreed that we would hold another meeting in this very cabin. The Sales Staff was great and was very accommodating with finding a Cabin to meet our needs as well working with us on the budget.

    • Manager Responded on 9/1/2015

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Rising Eagle Lodge

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    William R from Lakeland, FL does not recommend this vacation rental.

    We received no info on trash pickup, swimming pool. For a cabin that advertises accommodations for 27 people , there was 1 deck chair, seating for 5 in the living room, 8 chairs at the dining table. Very disappointed!!

    • Manager Responded on 8/3/2015

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us. We regret to hear that you had any issues. As you may or may not know each of our cabins are privately owned and we have several throughout Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. With each of the cabins being privately owned it can be a unique experience in each of them. We do send out the Check in direction via email and we have a mobile app for information such as pool passes and trash pick up. I truly regret that your last visit did not exceed all of your hopes and expectations. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. While we are human and none of us are perfect we hope that you will accept our sincere apology in the spirit in which it is given.

  •  
  • Family Get-together

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    William B from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this vacation rental

    This was a comfortable space for a group of 16. Lovely territorial view.
    The furnishings are showing a great deal of wear. Some couches, recliner difficult to use, the game tables are missing pieces - ball for Foosball table. Hot tub was locked so unable to use. Need to arrange for extra chairs/tables for dining if have over 8 people.

    • Manager Responded on 7/23/2015

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. As you may or may not know each of our cabins are privately owned and we have several throughout Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. With each of the cabins being privately owned it can be a unique experience in each of them. We willdefinitely le the owner know of your suggestion for the furnishings. I truly regret that your last visit did not exceed all of your hopes and expectations. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. While we are human and none of us are perfect we hope that you will accept our sincere apology in the spirit in which it is given.

  •  
  • We Made the Best of Things

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Leslie H from Clemmons, North Carolina does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Unfortunately, the property that we reserved had plumbing issues that required the management company to relocate us for our dates. We were fortunate that another home was available but it was not as well suited for our family reunion. We still made lasting memories and the view was incredible, but the relocated home had some plumbing and appliance issues and lacked parking and outdoor space, which made the experience less than desirable. The management company tried to charge us the same price for a cabin that was obviously inferior and it took multiple conversations with management to get a refund. All in all, we just had to make the best of things!

    • Manager Responded on 7/22/2015

      We are sorry that you had your heart set on your original cabin but the cabin we moved you to was by no means a lesser cabin. Both cabins are 8 bedrooms and the owner of Rising Eagle has been making many updates to it while the one that you originally booked has not been as updated. The pricing had not yet reflected the improvements to the cabin you stayed in so the pricing difference you found was a lingering discount. It was never anyone’s intention to charge you the same for a lesser cabin and there were no purposeful delays in making a refund to you when you brought it to our attention. This is a great cabin that is going through upgrades. The owner obviously can’t add a yard but it is a beautiful cabin for guest’s to enjoy.

  •  
  • Family Vacation

    Stayed 5 days ending in June, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Marcia K from Lake Worth, FL recommends this vacation rental

    The cabin was beautiful, the view was great, it was clean, but unfortunately we had maintenance problems inside the cabin such as water leaks, electrical problems, air hockey game not working, no telephone service, and the refrigerator shelf was broke and had no crisper drawers in it. It took 3 days to get these things taken care of.

    • Manager Responded on 6/30/2015

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us. We regret to hear that you had any issues. As you may or may not know each of our cabins are privately owned and we have several throughout Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. With each of the cabins being privately owned it can be a unique experience in each of them. We have investigated your complaints and we will notify our owner liasion to get these issues corrected. We are very sorry to hear that you had any issues. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced and appreciate your willingness to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you in the near the future.

  •  
  • Reunion

    Stayed 2 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kaelyn H from Greer, SC recommends this vacation rental

    It was awesome and perfect for a family reunion. we will be back

    • Manager Responded on 12/12/2014

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • A Family Thanksgiving

    Stayed 4 days ending in November, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Diane C from Murfreesboro, Tn recommends this vacation rental

    We had total of 21 family members that come from Texas, S.C., Florida & west TN. This is our third year having Thanksgiving in the mountains and is an time everyone looks forward to.

    The cabin was clean with the exception of dead flies in certain areas of the bathroom & bedrooms. Mainly upstairs. Each day they became more & more. Not sure what the cause was as we didn't see them flying around.

    I was disappointed in the kitchen. Not of lot of selection and what was there seem scattered. Would be nice if all pots/pans, utensils were located in same cabinets/drawers. Also, would be nice if there was a designated food storage area since there is no pantry. A cabin of this size is going to have a lot of people and a ton of food!!

    Some of the living room furniture crowded the kitchen bar area so we could not use it for extra seating and it was needed since the table only sat 8. Only 2 stools at bar?? The pictures on web site showed 5 stools and bakers rack in kitchen. Bakers rack was on living room around corner of kitchen. Didn't like my overflow kitchen supplies in the living area.

    Really disappointed in the "electric" fireplace. Not what I expected for a cabin of this size plus the main floor was very confining. I was expecting a more open space.

    Parking all our vehicles was a real challenge! We all enjoyed our time together in-spite of some personal issues we had and look forward to our time together next year.

    • Manager Responded on 12/31/2014

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. As you may or may not know all of our cabins are privately owned and we have several throughout Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. With each of the cabins being privately owned it can be a unique experience in each of them. The owner of the cabin has decorated and arranged the cabin mirrored to their style and fashion. We have recommended to the owner your suggestion about building a food pantry in the kitchen for additional storage. We especially appreciate the fact that in spite of shortcomings you are still willing to visit and recommend us to others. Thank you so much for that vote of confidence. We do strive to provide all our guests with a great vacation experience. We hope to see you again soon!

  •  
  • Church retreat

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mary B from Mount Julip, TN recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful time staying at your cabin. The only complaint that I have, is that the kitchen pots and pans are not big enough to cook in for a big a crowd. Besides that everything else was ok. Please correct spelling of our city to Mount Juliet. Thank you.

    • Manager Responded on 11/19/2014

      We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your positive review with us. We apologize that the pots and pans were not to your liking we will take that suggestion into consideration. These reviews are very important to us, as they allow us to know where we can make improvements but also when we excel. We have a great team that truly want to make each vacation experience a wonderful memory for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

  •  
  • Rising Eagle Lodge

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Charles H from Greenville, SC recommends this vacation rental

    Overall it was very nice, the onlytthing i disliked was the pool table had 2 holes on the table which made it difficult to play.

    • Manager Responded on 11/6/2014

      We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your positive review with us. These reviews are very important to us, as they allow us to know where we can make improvements but also when we excel. We have a great team that truly want to make each vacation experience a wonderful memory for our guests.We apologize about the condition of the pool table but we will have that corrected. We do appreciate you letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Promo Savings: Remove
Discounted Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:

What's this?

A promo code is for special discounts and may have been provided to you in either a newsletter, email or other correspondence from the manager or owner of this property.

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
35.778639,-83.601301

Eden Crest Vacation Rentals, Inc. 652 Wears Valley Road Pigeon Forge, Tennessee 37863 +1 (800) 406-7404 inquiries@edencrest.net

© 1999 - 2018 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon