Book by phone: +1 (800) 406-7404
Exterior of the chalet.

Oak Tree Lodge (#3)

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental cabin / bungalow. Sleeps 64, 17 bedrooms, 19 bathrooms. Dogs allowed.

Pigeon Forge, TN 37863 United States

Convenience is definitely something you will appreciate about this unique property. Located literally across the street from Dollywood and Splash Country this park like setting has all the conveniences without all the hassle of heavy traffic and congestion.

Simply decorated you will find all the creature comforts of home and this will soon become your haven from the cares and worries of the world. The retreat atmosphere is almost like the feeling you had when you were young and the excitement of a camp visit was all you could think about. Quiet nights by a bon fire reflecting on the goodness of our Creator will put you in the right frame of mind. From small parties of only two people to very large ones of several hundred this village is equipped to handle all your needs. If you are simply planning some time away with your significant other or you are in need of a venue with ample room for a large crowd this will suit your every need.

Whether it be a church retreat, wedding, family reunion, corporate event or a getaway for just the two of you our vacation planners are standing by to help you plan the perfect visit to the Great Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Call today!!

Under no circumstances will Fraternities and Sororities be allowed in any unit or cabin.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Cabin / Bungalow
Unit Code CHALET03
Beds 15 king beds, 3 queen beds, 6 sleeper sofas, 9 bunk beds
Bathrooms 19 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 64
Pets Dogs allowed.
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, 2nd Full Kitchen
Pool Type Resort Pool - Outdoor Seasonal
Indoor Living Space Ironing Board, Linens, Central Air, Double Washer/Dryer
Outdoor Deck, Gas Grill
Entertainment DVD Player, Foosball
Convenience Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Outlet Shopping, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank
Resort Amenities Playground
Average Manager Rating (Based on 4992 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 25 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
96 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Great Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Roger K from Hickory, NC recommends this vacation rental

    Oak tree Lodge was a perfect choice for our 38 people vacation. Eden Crest personnel were there to assist our needs.

    • Manager Responded on 8/1/2017

      We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

  •  
  • family reunion

    Stayed 6 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Dunn, NC recommends this vacation rental

    over all it was a good experience. We had stayed here last year and was told that it was to be completely refurbished, but the only thing we saw was some new flooring and new refrigerators. The staff is very courteous and quick to respond to maintenance needs. I have rented it again for next year as more upgrades are coming.

    • Manager Responded on 8/8/2017

      So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you back again soon!

  •  
  • 2017 Five Day Young Family Reunion

    Stayed 5 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kieth P from Jeffersonton, VA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a very enjoyable week. This is our 3rd time since 2011 ofstaying in the Oak Tree Lodge. We have had between 33 and 40 family members each time. The condition of the lodge is excellent. Each of us had our own private bed and bath. The property is clean well maintained. The customer service was excellent and prompt. I would recommend this location to any large group who wants to stay at one location. We enjoyed the activities provided by Eden Crest and all of the attractions near by.

    • Manager Responded on 7/4/2017

      We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Eden Crest. Our staff strive very hard to make our guests vacation experience the best that it can be. We always love to hear such great positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

  •  
  • Great for a Large Group

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Signal Mountain, TN recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great stay at Oak Tree Lodge. We had a large group of 50+ people. The only issue we had was with the linens, but after a quick call to house keeping the issue was quickly & easily resolved. We loved staying here and will again.

    • Manager Responded on 2/21/2017

      Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

  •  
  • OAK TREE LODGE

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Luke E from Jefferson City, TN recommends this vacation rental

    I have rented this cabin for 5 years now and have never been disappointed. A lot of space, very clean and a great location. However, if you are planning a trip during snow season please be aware. I was told that there is an HOA in this resort who would salt the roads for guest. This was NOT true during our visit. When we arrived we went to the front desk and asked about salting the roads before the snow came. They refused and only said they would salt our cabin sidewalks. They said they would only salt if the county enforced them to. Very disappointed because they had both the equipment and salt to help but chose to stay in their front office. We will go back, but I think you need to be prepared for this as a guest.

    • Manager Responded on 1/16/2017

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. We will take your suggestion into consideration and do our best to be much more prepared next time we have emergency weather. Sincerest of apologies are offered for your inconvenience. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Alright

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Chattanooga, TN recommends this vacation rental

    The overall stay was ok. We were sent the wrong key code couple of times until we had to call and find out that it was wrong. The is a small ramp at the door that blends in with the wood which several people tripped over almost spraining their ankle. If they fixed those things it would have been better

    • Manager Responded on 10/27/2016

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us regarding the ramp. Your review is helpful and prompted us to notify our maintenance team to rectify the situation. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you in the near future.

  •  
  • large family vacation

    Stayed 6 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Dunn, NC recommends this vacation rental

    A very enjoyable stay. We have been doing a large family vacation in the area for several years and this was our first stay with Eden
    Crest. Property needed a little fixing up but was very clean. Maintenance was taken care promptly and courteously. We understood Eden Crest had only recently acquired this property and plans for a complete upgrade before next season We have already reserved it for next year. Location is great.

    • Manager Responded on 9/14/2016

      Thank you for filling out this survey. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback from our guests. The team will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Family Reunion at Oak Tree Lodge

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stephanie S from Virden, IL recommends this vacation rental

    We had 34 family members from all over the US at Oak Tree for a week. This is the second time we have rented this lodge for our reunion. It is in the perfect location to make everyone happy. Secluded enough to have some privacy, but close to all the activities you could want. Family was able to hit the hiking trails and river, go to Dollywood and shop the Island. The size of the lodge and the bathroom in each bedroom make it perfect for us. The main level is perfect for the family who were not able to maneuver the stairs, and the cousins loved the bunk room to stay in together. We enjoy being able to have dinner together at the huge table! Staff was pleasant and helpful from the booking to the departure. The couple small maintenance issues we had were taken care of promptly. Wish we could rent the lodge every year, but am sure we will be back for the next reunion!

    • Manager Responded on 7/21/2016

      Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Best family reunion venue ever!

    Stayed 5 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from O Fallon, MO recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great experience at the Eden Crest Vacation Rental. It was a perfect location for our family of 47. It was very clean and worked very well for us. When we needed something fixed, they were there to help quickly. It was also very nice to have a pool and fire pit within walking distance.

    • Manager Responded on 7/21/2016

      Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Church trip

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jeannie A from Blairsville, GA recommends this vacation rental

    The cabin is awesome in size for a large group. We had no problems with the cabin during our stay.

    • Manager Responded on 6/14/2017

      Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Yearly Trip

    Stayed 2 days ending in February, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Tammie Patterson M from Shelbyville, TN recommends this vacation rental

    Great Experience year after year. Guest Relations is great to work with for our large group. We have already booked our stay for next year. Thank you for taking such good care of us each year.

    • Manager Responded on 3/4/2016

      Thank you for filling out this survey. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback from our guests. The team will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Better than expectations

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jacob D from Ooltewah, TN recommends this vacation rental

    I had a group of 65 stay the weekend.The inside was very nice and everything worked. It snowed all of friday night and we woke to trucks taking care of the roads for us. Working with staff was extremely easy. Aside from not receiving a solid floor plan so i could assign rooms to my group, i only have positive things to say and plan to book with them again next year.

    • Manager Responded on 1/26/2016

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Youth Retreat

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Luke E from Jefferson City, TN recommends this vacation rental

    We had great time at Oak Tree Lodge. Great experience and a very easy time with the booking proces

    • Manager Responded on 1/26/2016

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Good space and Layout

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Chattanooga, TN recommends this vacation rental

    For the past several years our church has used Eden Crest rentals and were satisfied, however we rented Holly Grove, Walnut Grove, and Oak Tree and were not pleased. The cabins weren't as clean as previous, there were cracks along the floors of downstairs & kitchen, light fixtures were hanging by wires, carpet looks like it needs a good steam clean or changing, none of the bunk beds where made like in other cabins. The space was good especially in Oak tree. We also had to put multiple work orders in for showers that werent working as well as drains. We put in work order for the gas for our grill Friday evening and was told that we would could get it in the morning and it didn't come to late afternoon even after calling about it that morning again. Overall the space was great however it definitely needs some renovations. The Customer service was nice each time we called. The big dining area in this cabin was a major plus. We really utilized the space.

    • Manager Responded on 10/8/2015

      Alex, Thank you for your review, we sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve all of your vacation needs. I am very pleased to here that our staff was accommodating for your needs service is always our most important priority here at Eden Crest. Your valuable feedback allows us to know where we need to grow as a company. You will be pleased to hear that all of the units in the area are currently slated to be completely renovated. Again we sincerely appreciate your business and we look forward to serving you again soon.

  •  
  • Great Cabin.....many toubles

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Shelley/Brenda K from Taylors, SC recommends this vacation rental

    The Oak Tree Lodge is a great cabin. This cabin gives individual bathrooms which i am not sure can be matched in a cabin for the size. There were many disappointing moments during our stay. There were hairs on bed covers, residue on the refrigerator,our feet were black from walking on the dirty floors, NO wash cloths or dish towels in kitchen, many of the single beds and bunks did not have sheets on them. We had to make beds before ladies arrived. We took photos of these things. My biggest disappointment was check-in time. The heating and air guys let us in and we were very thankful. I am not sure if you understand how much is involved in bringing 44 women to your cabin. If i was bringing 10 big deal...44 a BIG DEAL! I feel that the check-in time for this large cabin needs to be earlier so that those responsible have adequate time to prepare for guest arrival time. Our ladies were coming from 300 miles away! We need to be ready to greet them and be prepared. I am not sure that we will be able to come back due to check-in UN-flexibility. I had ask for a early check in and was very disappointed. Also i never received a code to exit and enter. I had to get it from your Wonderful Maintenance guy. We also had some issue with a leaking toilet and an alarm that was going off in the heating closet. The maintenance guys were very helpful and took care of those issues. I am a very easy person to work with and i feel you could have had a real stink on your hands if it had been any other person who had the same issues. I would love to return again with a large group, but would need to have a earlier check in and all the above issues considered. We lead many retreats and have been at this location before. I hope this has been helpful for further rental!

    • Manager Responded on 10/5/2015

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us. We regret to hear that you had any issues. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the cabin cleaned to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, I cannot find any recordings of you calling to share concerns about the cleanliness of the cabin nor do I show any work order requests for cleaners to return. Had you said anything about your concerns during your stay we would have gladly sent the cleaners back to address them. We contract cleaners to clean each cabin and they understand that if the cleaning is not considered satisfactory to a guest they will be expected to return to the cabin to address any issues. Now that you are gone there is no way for us to take issue with the manner in which they cleaned the cabin. In the future we would respectfully request that you let us know so that we can have the opportunity to immediately address it. We do not make the bunk beds unless we are told they will be used. As for early check in time w do are best to accommodate when we are notified before hand. We are currently working on updating the property. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • Family Reunion

    Stayed 2 days ending in June, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Charlotte, NC recommends this vacation rental

    Everything was ok, except the cable wasn't working in the living area. Very specious and the kids really enjoyed themselves!!!

    • Manager Responded on 7/8/2015

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us over the cable. We are very sorry to hear that you had any issues. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced and appreciate your willingness to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you in the near the future.

  •  
  • Fun!

    Stayed 2 days ending in April, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Cincinnati, OH recommends this vacation rental

    Perfect setting. Great location. Tranquility. Phonemonal facilities pertaining to all age groups (bball courts, playgrounds, scenic views, ect.). Couldn't have been more satisfied

    • Manager Responded on 5/6/2015

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • A time alone with God

    Stayed 2 days ending in April, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Kingsport, TN recommends this vacation rental

    Our group of 33 ladies, ranging in age from our 20's to 70's, stayed here for a 3 day weekend early in April for a Women's Retreat from our church. The location is fantastic! The cabin was very clean. Yes, it is showing some wear and tear on the furniture, but so is mine at home. Yes, there is one room on the lower level where there was no hot water and a very slow tub drain, but the ladies in that room simply walked across the hall and showered in that room. We didn't even call Eden Crest with the problem. Having the double vanities in the room and the toilet and bath/shower behind closed doors was very nice. The lighting over the vanities was excellent. Parking could be a problem if you let it. We chose to call it "valet" parking having the ladies pull to the front of the cabin, unload and drive back down the hill and park and ride back up with a friend. Yes, we would definitely stay there again. Eden Crest was always very helpful to help me no matter how many questions I had. Do not hesitate to rent this property from a few negative reviews. If you choose choose joy, you will find joy there.

    • Manager Responded on 4/15/2015

      Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

  •  
  • Heritage Fellowship Women's Retreat

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jayna C from Florence, KY recommends this vacation rental

    Again, the clean sheets need to be laid on the bunk beds for large groups. Also bottom floor carpets need to be replaced.

    The large conference room needs the sound worked on. Once maintenance came and set it up, you could not hear in the back. I am talking just the back half of the room where we were sitting during the speaking. If we had not packed our own portable sound then we would have been in a mess. If anyone was counting on that sound system for a large group they would not be happy.

    • Manager Responded on 3/24/2015

      Your feedback is vital to our future success as we learn so much from our guests that allows us to continue providing excellent customer service. Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey and for choosing Eden Crest Vacation rentals as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

  •  
  • Wonderful Chalet

    Stayed 2 days ending in March, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Debbie S from Antioch, Tn recommends this vacation rental

    This was one of the most pleasurable cabin stays we have ever had. The chalet was HUGE! It comfortably held all 45 of us. The management was friendly and extremely helpful through out the entire process. The view was beautiful yet close to everything in Pigeon Forge. I would recommend this chalet at Eden Crest to anyone.

    • Manager Responded on 3/8/2015

      We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your positive review with us. These reviews are very important to us, as they allow us to know where we can make improvements but also when we excel. We have a great team that truly want to make each vacation experience a wonderful memory for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

  •  
  • Perfect for Our Group

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Sharpsburg, GA recommends this vacation rental

    We certainly enjoyed our stay at Oak Tree Lodge! It was large enough to accommodate our youth group very comfortably. The cabin was spacious and had most of the amenities needed. Unfortunately, we had to leave a day early due to the winter storm approaching. We did, however, have issues with some of the tubs not draining properly, light bulbs out, dirt on the sheets of one bed and the heat was not working in one of the downstairs rooms. Also, the cabin is somewhat dated but still very nice and perfect if you are bringing a large group! We will consider using Oak Tree Lodge and Eden Crest for our student retreat again next year!

    • Manager Responded on 2/22/2015

      I truly regret that your last visit did not exceed all of your hopes and expectations. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. While we are human and none of us are perfect our efforts were sincere and hope that you will accept our sincere apology in the spirit in which it is given.

  •  
  • Third Year Here

    Stayed 2 days ending in February, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest recommends this vacation rental

    There were 33 in our Sunday School class who came to the retreat, this was the third time staying here. Obviously a lot of maintenance issues needed attention but I guess the situation that is going on with the facility now doesn't warrant itself to that. The most concerning thing was the septic system, tubs not draining well and commodes getting stopped up. There was raw sewage on top of the ground in the back. It is a great layout for our group and the location is great. I hope that it will fall into good hands and be improved upon. I was told the code would be sent to me at noon, it wasn't. I called at about 2:30 and they said it wasn't ready and would text to me. At 3:55 I had not heard from them and called and was given the code then. I would recommend as to the space and location but would hope some improvements are coming.

    • Manager Responded on 4/17/2015

      Yes, the previous management company was foreclosed on and the bank took over the facility. The bank was very generous in keeping the facility open and honoring reservations in spite of the fact that there was no money in reserve. We have never received any maintenance requests regarding septic or bathroom issues. The only needs that you brought to our attention were for a light bulb replacement and grill to be delivered. There has not been any issues with raw sewage. The bank has done a very good job of making the necessary repairs to the facility and the new owners of the Village will be doing some remodeling. We are sorry that we could not accommodate your request for an early check-in but our standard check-in is any time after 4:00PM. We never can guarantee that an early check-in request can be accommodated. We do the best we can but unforeseen circumstances can hinder them from being available early. We are all very excited about the plans the new owners have this resort and know that guests will enjoy the improvements. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your last stay but hope to see you again in the future so that you can fully experience our exceptional service.

  •  
  • GREAT FOR A LARGE GROUP

    Stayed 2 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Janice R from Mosheim, Tn recommends this vacation rental

    WE ENJOYED THE STAY. SOME MAINTENANCE WAS NEEDED. SOME LIGHT BULBS NEEDS REPLACED, ONLY 1 TV WAS WORKING. NO CABLE WAS AVAILABE BUT ON 1 TV.

    • Manager Responded on 12/12/2014

      We apologize that your last visit did not exceed all of your hopes and expectations. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced and appreciate your willingness to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you in the near the future.

  •  
  • Thanksgiving Family Reunion

    Stayed 4 days ending in November, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Richard S from HIWASSEE, VA does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Property was dated. We took this property in lieu of two newer 4 bedroom cabins due to one of the owners decided to no longer rent their property with Eden Crest. Eden Crest offered this larger older motel/lodge type property. It worked well, but was older and had some downfalls. TV's worked but only one had cable, one washer was broken, game room was not as shown, showed two hot tubs but had none, beds were very hard and old. We had a great time and the property is located close to all the action of shopping and entertainment. No great views but works well with a large group.

    • Manager Responded on 12/16/2014

      Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey regarding your stay. These surveys are very important to us as they allow us to discover what areas we excel at but also what areas need attention. We do apologize for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us. We regret to hear that you had any issues. We just recently took over as the managing company for the Smoky Mountain Christian Village and are learning new things about the property. We are grateful for any and all feedback that guests bring to our attention. We do apologize for the interruption in the change of reservations you originally had. Are hands were tied when the owner decided to pull their cabin from any rentals. Although Oak Tree Lodge was not the same accommodations you originally had, we are glad we were able to accommodate you with another place. We truly regret that your last visit did not exceed all of your hopes and expectations. Our desire at Eden Crest is to try and provide all guests with a wonderful vacation experience. While we are human and none of us are perfect our efforts were sincere and hope that you will accept our sincere apology in the spirit in which it is given.

  •  
  • A Weekend with Sisters

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Andersonvile, TN recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed in Cabin #3 last year and had a great time. This year was no different! The grounds and cabin were very nice and clean. Everyone agreed that it was an excellent place for a retreat.

    • Manager Responded on 10/16/2014

      Thank you for filling out this survey. The team here is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Promo Savings: Remove
Discounted Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:

What's this?

A promo code is for special discounts and may have been provided to you in either a newsletter, email or other correspondence from the manager or owner of this property.

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
35.80673,-83.543405

Eden Crest Vacation Rentals, Inc. 652 Wears Valley Road Pigeon Forge, Tennessee 37863 +1 (800) 406-7404 inquiries@edencrest.net

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon